On Kale

In my early 20s, I ate a lot of kale. It was a pretty trendy vegetable at the time, but I ate it predominantly because I was vegan. Kale is a superfood that is a good source of vitamins A, C, and K. Also, even though it’s a vegetable, it contains a relatively high amount of calcium!

IMG_0457

Fast-forward to my mid-twenties, and I still love kale even though I no longer rely on it as an important source of calcium. I eat it at least a few times a week! Here are some of my favorite ways to eat it:

1) Sautéed 

I sauté thoroughly washed and dried kale with olive oil and garlic on medium to medium-high heat for several minutes. I add sea salt and red pepper flakes to taste and squeeze a lemon over it for some brightness. I got this “recipe” from eco-chef Louisa Shafia, whose book Lucid Food is pretty wonderful. (She has a great vegan pad thai recipe in there!)

2) Baked

There are kale chip recipes that call for temperatures as low as 200 F and as high as 400 F. In my experience, kale burns at 400 F, so I like to make kale chips at 300-350 F. I drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt. I watch them pretty closely because they can burn so fast! I take them out of the oven when most of them are crisp, which usually takes about 10-15 minutes. I love to put nutritional yeast on these. Esin has been putting garlic powder on hers lately, and that’s pretty good too!

photo-31

3) Raw 

This is my absolute favorite kale salad recipe. The dressing is delicious, but I think it’s optional because you’re already using EVOO and lemon juice while massaging the kale. Anyways, Sarah Britton of My New Roots also has another recipe for a kale salad that is wonderful; it has roasted butternut squash and fresh pomegranate in it—yum!

Leave a Reply

